First mission

Dear Vera,

I have finally received one of your letters! I’m glad to hear that everyone is doing well back home. Well, I am imagining that the letter said that, because I’m not very sure whether it did. The envelope had been torn open, and half of the letter was charred, as if it had been touched by a fiery claw of some sort. I tried to rebuild it using some magic, but the letter did not respond to magic, as if its contents had been blurred out by some powerful dark magician (that’s weird, am I right?).

Anyway, I have finally started work this week. It’s been quite a stressful period, after studying so intensely for the selection process, but luckily all of that is behind me. I just need to concentrate on my work now (and I even get some leisure time to do what I want to, which is quite nice, if you ask me).

My boss is a woman named Lisa who has the position of Priestess of the Dark Lord, Assistant of the sub-Lieutenant Third of the American Branch of the Illuminati, which I think makes her quite important in the corporate structure of the Illuminati. I am basically her assistant, and she explained to me that she was responsible for handing out missions to her assistants, who were to carry them out. So she is something like an operations manager, I think. I still don’t understand very well how this whole thing works.

A couple of days ago, I received my very first mission. I was told that it was extremely important, and I was given two papers, one of them contained the instructions to get to my destination, and the other one I was not allowed to read until I reached my destination. In fact, I mistook the papers when looking for directions, and a strange ray of light blinded me for a few minutes.

When I recovered my vision, I took the other paper and followed what was written there. I got out of The Occult District and started to walk. In 10 meters, I had reached my destination, a Starbucks in the corner of a nearby street. I got inside, waited for the queue to advance and then read the other paper, which said:

2 x Mocca caramel frappuchinno
1 x Almond special with cream, with no dairy, no sugar, a pinch of cinnamon and no caffeine

I placed the order, waited for ten minutes, got only one Mocca caramel frappuchinno and two lattes, asked for a change, got a tea, gave the tea back, received a Mocca caramel frappuchinno with whipped cream, gave it back once more, received and Almond special with cream, but it was not made of soy, so I gave it back, received the second Mocca caramel frappuchinno, dropped the first one, ordered another Mocca caramel frappuchino, got an Almond special with cream, no dairy and no caffeine, got a rooibos which I gave back, but apparently it belonged to some other lady who had been sitting in a table for quite a while, so I asked for it again, finally received the Mocca caramel frappuchino, left the shop, went back in because I had forgotten the pinch of cinnamon, explained that I had just bought the coffee there to the manager, got some cinnamon, and headed back to The Occult District.

When I got back, Lisa drank the two Mocca caramel frappuchinnos in one go, took the Almond special for her boss, and congratulated me on the success of my mission. My work had apparently had results! I was so happy that I was being part of changing the way the world works. This mission truly inspired me to work harder.

Anyway, I hope everyone is doing well at home. Hopefully the next letter will arrive in one piece. Regards,

Jan

Leave a Reply

