22 – C

Mamma Luca said goodbye, and then walked into an Italian cafeteria inside the airport, where she ordered a caffè latte. She sat at a table, where she sipped her coffee. She knew that he would eventually appear. He did not take long, and he joined her with an americano.

“What a waste of a coffee, Aren” she greeted him, as he sat in front of her.

“Oh, that’s right. I had forgotten that you tend to be quite conservative when it comes to coffee” he responded with a smile.

She put down her cup. “So, what are you doing here?” she asked.

“What are you doing here?” he asked.

“I asked first” she answered playfully.

“You know… doing my work. I had to come to check some stuff in Fiery Creek, now I have to go somewhere else” he made it sound like the chore was utterly boring. “Now it’s your turn”.

“OK… I’m going to do some research on the Plan and its origins, so I’m going back to Greece” she said.

“Do you think it’s a good idea?”

“I want to understand why I lost my son” she said, her eyes bright.

His expression was serious. “Sometimes it’s better not to know. The truth can be hurtful”.

“But I need closure” she said, tears rolling down her cheeks, but still composed.

He held her hand. “Do you mind if I accompany you? I think you shouldn’t go alone in this trip”.

“Would you do that?”

“Yes” he answered, firmly.

“Thank you so much!”

A miniature Laurel sighed, relieved, inside Mamma Luca’s bag, as the two opened a portal and walked directly to Greece. She had not been detected.

Leave a Reply

